Christmas 2011

I felt like I spent more time anticipating Christmas 2011 than I have in past years. I got to watch Brandt ooh and aah over the lights and candles and other celebratory trimmings. I made a lot of gifts, which meant I spent the entire month of December engaged in Christmas crafts and considering their recipients. We intentionally celebrated Advent with our Jesse tree ornaments, reviewing the whole history of salvation up to the birth of Christ – though our practice was haphazard rather than daily, with Brandt’s limited attention span and Aaron’s work travel. (I never got around to making my ornament for December 25, and yet we still had three to finish up on Christmas day.)

With all that anticipation, I thought disappointment might ensue. But it didn’t. We had a truly lovely Christmas weekend, with family and food and church (though we spent much of both Christmas Eve and Christmas morning services keeping an active little boy happily engaged at the back of the room in mostly quiet play).

After Brandt went to bed on Christmas Eve, we assembled our main gift for him – a play kitchen – and I felt quiet joy in that rite of passage. Infertility used to cast long shadows in this season of lights, but now we’re parents who assemble toys on the night before Christmas. Oh, blessing.

And next year, Lord willing, we get to do it all again with two children.

He who did not spare his own Son but gave him up for us all, how will he not also with him graciously give us all things? Romans 8:32

4 Comments

Filed under uncategorization

4 responses to “Christmas 2011

  1. Whenever I think of your family, I am freshly overcome by amazement at God’s gifts. I love that THIS is how your Christmases are now…joy instead of sorrow. Love you, friend.

    p.s.- Can’t wait for Addie Beth to come enjoy that kitchen. šŸ™‚

  2. I second Katie’s comment. What a kind blessing God has bestowed on you, and I am rejoicing with you that you enjoyed the experience of assembling toys before Christmas and seeing B’s shining eyes as he opened them!

  3. Bobbie

    so neat Andrea…

  4. love the kitchen! And I love Brandt’s big grin and tiny bow tie even more. And even more than that, I love that you get to revel in the joy of giving Christmas to your child now. (and children!) That makes my heart happy.

Leave a Reply

