Tests and Blessings in 2010

On the first Sunday of the new year, we sang “Blessed Be Your Name,” which neatly captured some of my reflections on 2010.

Every blessing You pour out, I’ll turn back to praise
When the darkness closes in, Lord, still I will say
Blessed be the name of the Lord

2010 – what a doozy. Full of tests of adversity and tests of prosperity. Darkness and blessing stirred up together, so that most of my praises for God’s gifts were also pleas for endurance.

Pregnancy, after so many years of waiting. Then that pregnancy ended abruptly and frighteningly. Blessed be the name of the Lord.

A baby, oh, a sweet, tiny baby. A baby who came too early, who almost died, who spent seven long weeks in the hospital learning to breathe. Blessed be the name of the Lord.

That baby came home, at last. But that baby still needed special medical care round the clock. Then that baby developed colic. He cried, cried, cried; I paced, swayed, bounced, prayed, despaired. Blessed be the name of the Lord.

Aaron started grad school, a decisive step towards a better work and home life. Meanwhile, weekly classes and hours of homework on top of the demands of his full-time job take him away from us more than ever. Blessed be the name of the Lord.

I started to pursue my dream vocation of motherhood at home. Unexpected bills leave quite the gap between the ends we thought would just barely meet on Aaron’s salary. Blessed be the name of the Lord.

Part-time teaching, which I had planned to continue for the sheer enjoyment of it,  provided a way to close that gap. Attempting to read and plan lessons and grade around the demands of a high-needs, poorly sleeping infant became a consistent temptation to anxiety. Blessed be the name of the Lord.

Amidst it all – the birth, the hospital, the colic, the demands of work and school, the financial worries – I often felt more aware of the troubles. But looking back at the year, I am overwhelmed by grace.

2010. Swamped in blessing, swamped in trial. Under it all, Christ the solid rock.

Blessed be the name of the Lord.

7 Comments

Filed under meditation

7 responses to “Tests and Blessings in 2010

  1. Oh, Andrea. What a roller coaster you have had! Thank you for your example of blessing the name of the Lord in the midst of the highs and lows. And I love this picture of you all! Fabulous headband, mama!

    Let’s talk soon, ok? I miss you!

  2. What a wonderful way to sum up the year, Andrea. Despite the trials, God truly has poured out His abundant grace on your family. We rejoice and bless the name of the Lord with you!

  3. amy

    Once again I am encouraged and refreshed by the expression of your faith. Yes, indeed: blessed be the name of the Lord.

  4. You have fought to say “blessed be the name of the Lord” all throughout the year (and many years past). I really am more firmly convinced of God’s amazing power and grace as I’ve seen Him at work in you guys. Thanks for being His instrument of grace to so many of us!

  5. This is really an awesome post and such a good reminder. I find myself so often allowing myself to feel sorry for myself, stress out, and think that other people who stay joyful in the Lord have less stress, problems, etc…than me. But, at the end of the day, there is no excuse. God’s grace is enough. He is the only thing we need. He has chosen us, His elect, to glorify Him and enjoy Him forever! What else do we need? Thank you for this post.

  6. I’m late reading this post, but wanted to say how great it is. What a year 2010 was! You went through a lot of extreme ups and downs and remained faithful and steadfast all the way. Amazing. Love the post and so glad your precious boy has come so far. God is good!

  7. Catherine

    Wow Wow, I was following you in 2009 and then when on a break. I am so happy for you…and challenged at the way you can bless God even in the midst of what seems to be a very trying time…..I am challenged to bless God at all times.

    Thanks

    Catherine

Leave a Reply

