festive {2}

This idea (which I encountered last year via both Ohdeedoh and domestic life) appealed to my enthusiasm for words and for lovely paper goods. Now our dining room looks like this:

It enchants me every time I walk in the room.

To make the Christmas carol banners, I: 1) jotted down lines from Christmas hymns; 2) counted up the number of each letter in the lines I wanted to use; 3) folded red paper into quarters then cut out letters freehand four at a time; 4) ran out of red paper and decided a few white letters in the mix would look just fine; 5) laid each line out to make sure I had all the letters and distributed the white somewhat evenly; 6) taped letters to baker’s twine; and 7) taped the ends of each line’s twine to the wall/ceiling. It all took much less time than I thought it would.

3 Comments

Filed under domestication

3 responses to “festive {2}

  1. you did it!!! I love that idea!!! Maybe next year for me. 🙂 And I think the white sprinkled in looks fabulous. Love it! And sounds easier than I thought it would be, too. I think the other instructions I saw on this sounded more complicated. Maybe next year we can have a letter-cutting/banner-making party. 🙂

  2. amy

    I love this! I’m currently trying to figure out where I could do this in my house.

  3. Aleece

    Andrea…the dining room looks amazing! I love the banners. It really draws attention to what the season is about. I think I need this to re-focus my thoughts when I get tempted by the to-do list!

Leave a Reply

