Flozen Egg Baby

One year ago today, we found out that we were expecting Brandt (though we didn’t know it was him at the time). That IVF #4 had worked, after nearly five years of infertility. That at least one of the three embryos we transferred–three embryos created by fertilizing eggs we had frozen during a previous cycle–had implanted. That God had given life and I was miraculously, undeservedly pregnant.

Two weeks after that positive result, I thought I might be miscarrying. Bleeding sent me rushing for an ultrasound. The bleeding turned out to be a clot, but the baby–one miniscule baby–was fine. I spent the next few weeks on bedrest, and then the pregnancy progressed normally.

During my second trimester, people commented on how uneventful, how uncomplicated my pregnancy was. Sure, at that time.

Around 30 weeks, I experienced a sudden increase in swelling. I got fairly uncomfortable. One Sunday, I said to a friend, “I’ve reached the point where I’m thinking, ‘Do I really still have to endure nine weeks until my due date?'”

The next day, Brandt was born.

Partway through Brandt’s NICU stay, I was surprised but glad to get a call at home from the embryologist who had aided in our successful IVF. He’s an Asian man with a thick accent. “How plegnancy going?” he asked. Well, it’s actually over; I gave birth at 31 weeks. “Evelyting OK?” Yes. The baby’s still in the hospital, but he’s fine. “Evelyting normal?” Yes, after a rough start, everything is normal. “This flozen egg baby, right?”

Yes, that’s right. The flozen egg baby.

One year ago, we found out that the long shot, experimental fertilization of my frozen eggs had worked. Seeking to honor our convictions about respecting human life from its beginnings, we had foregone the standard IVF practice of freezing embryos and frozen unfertilized eggs instead. Against all odds and against all the doctors’ doubts, God had bestowed a child through this relatively untried method of infertility treatment.

I don’t know how many children have been conceived from frozen eggs. But I’m overjoyed that, through our IVF using frozen eggs, God answered our prayers for a child with that positive pregnancy test one year ago. Overjoyed that, one year after finding out we had conceived in that rare way, we have one wonderfully healthy, almost six-month-old “flozen egg baby.”

9 Comments

Filed under Brandt

9 responses to “Flozen Egg Baby

  1. sarah k

    praise God. We love that flozen egg baby! πŸ™‚

  2. Such a cute flozen egg baby too! πŸ™‚ God is good.

  3. praising the Lord for your flozen blessing! πŸ™‚

  4. amy

    I am so glad that our God is capable of such beautiful miracles!

  5. Coralie

    Oh I love your story and your view of IVF and your faithfulness . . . Praising the Lord with you for Brandt.

  6. Annika

    I still laugh to myself when I think of this term. Brandt has the best nicknames. πŸ™‚

  7. JJ

    Happy flozen day πŸ™‚

  8. Love this post! Thanks for sharing your incredible journey via your blog. It’s so wonderful to look back and see all that God has done!

  9. Hi there. Thank you for sharing your story. I am beginning IVF this cycle and we also would like to only fertilize enough eggs to have just enough to put back and freeze the rest. When we went to the evening seminar at my clinic, they said that they can freeze eggs. But when we had our consult with our RE, he said that it costs in the range of $5,000 to defrost the eggs each time we do that and that if we didn’t want embryos to freeze, he would hold back on the stimulants. He just made it sound like it wasn’t really even a choice. However, since I have responded so poorly in the past with my IUI cycles, I am afraid we won’t get any eggs if he does that (or not enough to even get one fresh transfer). I’d love to hear your thoughts on this and how your RE handled this with you.

    You can email me at waitingtobeexpecting at gmail dot com.

    Take care,
    Emby

Leave a Reply

