Family Circus

June 30, so far.  (Most times are approximate.)

12:06 a.m. Baby wakes up hungry; Aaron feeds baby; I try to get baby to go back to sleep.

12:26 – 12:59 a.m. Baby: I’m awake!  I’m still awake!  Awake, awake, awake!

1:00 a.m. I give up and take baby to couch, where we sleep fitfully.

4:02 a.m. Baby wakes up hungry.  Aaron feeds baby.  I attempt sleep.

4:26 a.m. Baby: Variety is the spice of life!  How ’bout some early morning colic?

5:18 a.m. Aaron must get ready for work, deposits colicky baby in bed with me.  Baby flails and wails; I stare at wall in despair.

5:36 a.m. Aaron: I have to leave for work.  Why don’t you take Brandt for a drive and pick up some breakfast?

5:54 a.m. Oswego McDonald’s not open yet.  Boo.  Keep driving.

6:12 a.m. Yorkville McDonald’s open.  Yay!

6:13 a.m. – 7:23 a.m.  Driving, driving.  Hi, Plano!   Ooh, the Farnsworth House.  Fields.  River.  Hey, Silver Springs State Park.  Farm with free kittens!  Home.

7:42 a.m. Baby: I’m awake! I’m hungry!

8:21 a.m. Baby asleep; I blog.

8 Comments

Filed under Brandt

8 responses to “Family Circus

  1. oh, bless your heart! my son never had colic, but we have had some really, really rough days here lately where he has been inconsolable and screaming/thrashing like i’ve never seen. it is purely exhausting. knowing that colic is worse and lasts longer…well, i will pray for you guys!

    i hope brandt outgrows this phase soon…so that you both can rest and enjoy one another.

    (thanks for your prayers for me…still anxiously waiting)

  2. sarah k

    oh, honey. I’m guessing you’re not going to park day today? We won’t be there….I’m pretty wiped out, too–though not for nearly as good reasons as yours! Sleep, sweet baby B…:)

  3. My son is almost two and we still are trying to get him to sleep! LOL which his five month old sister sleep like a champ!!

    One LOVE…

  4. YOLD

    So, here is my take on recent world events. I believe that the oil drilling accident in the Gulf of Mexico has torn a hole in the fabric of the space-time continuum. As a result, the creatures that live in the center of the earth are creating havoc in the surface world. Consider these otherwise unexplainable things: The U.S. soccer team plays 4 games, wins only one, and are hailed as a huge success. Joe Biden uses profanity with an open mike present. We forget to send Aunt Marcia a card in time for her birthday. A farm is giving away free kittens. Mark gets a job and starts work. Brandt has colic. I know of no other way to explain all of this (how else could that angelic little boy keep you awake all night). Hang in there, we love all of you and keep you in our prayers.

  5. Oh, Brandt! I think that you are going to be just as smart as your mommy and daddy and you’re soooo smart that you can’t sleep or rest because your mind just keeps racing. Tip for you, little one: contemplate the depth of love your parents must have for you such that they are patiently trusting God in all this! Maybe if you think on that you will stop crying and sleep.

  6. hanna

    Oh….. baby!! :/

  7. sandy garrard

    Recently Ihad the most serious gastrointestinal pains and I realized this is probably what it feels like to have colic. They only lasted for a few hours where I questioned, “appendicitis? tumor? gas?” and I was at work and just wanted to crawl under the desk in a fetal position or scream or something because it really HURT. Crying for 4 straight hours probably would have done SOMETHING. Finally the spasmic pains went away on their own but I have never forgotten what it felt like. And I am sorry little Brandt feels sorta like that. I never had colicky kids but my poor mother-in-law did and all you do is live through it and it will increase your patience and thankfulness, so it does help you become an even better parent. You are doing a wonderful job and he is just a beautiful little boy. Sending love from all your Stiles/Garrard relatives.

Leave a Reply

