Rocking and Skirting

I’m having a jolly time getting the nursery ready.  I love home decor and design, and it’s a thrill to plan for a baby’s room.  So far, the nursery exists mainly in my head.  We’re working on some prep work (painting, mainly) before we really start buying furniture and assembling the room.

I do, however, have my rocking chair.  I fell in love with this one from the Land of Nod, but I couldn’t justify the price.  However, we happen to live very near a newly-opened Land of Nod outlet.  We stopped in one weekend and found a floor model of exactly the rocker I wanted, marked down DRASTICALLY.  Here it is in our (poorly lit) sitting room:

I love it.  It’s just the right balance between comfy and supportive.  With the curved back, it’s high enough for a tall gal like me to actually rest my head.  I sit in it as often as I can!

Just this week, I also ordered our cribskirt.  We decided against getting a crib set and are instead mixing and matching different things that we like.  The nursery will have a woodlands theme and a color scheme of orange and grey, with some browns and blues thrown in.  For the cribskirt, I found an Etsy seller who makes custom crib bedding, and she was able to get this orange woodgrain fabric (from this collection) for me:

The skirt will be straight with a box pleat.  I can’t wait to see the final product in a few weeks, and I can’t wait to see my nursery vision slowly become a reality!

6 Comments

Filed under domestication

6 responses to “Rocking and Skirting

  1. I can’t wait to see the finished nursery!! Love that you’ve chosen bright colors. 🙂

  2. Coralie

    Oh that chair does look perfect!

  3. I LOVE that rocker!! And I didn’t know there was a LoN outlet near us — where is it??

  4. Annika

    So fun! I’m so excited for you to be able to design a nursery! I can’t wait to see it finished. You’re so good at this sort of thing…I might bring you in to help me when we move into our new house! 🙂 And I love the rocker–we have a similar one and it’s wonderful. I don’t know if you’ll need this because you’re tall, but I’ve used a Medela nursing stool with my chair; it’s angled just slightly for your feet to rest on. It’s been very helpful for nursing. Just fyi! 🙂 I found mine on Ebay so it was a bit cheaper, but I think they’re worth the price!

Leave a Reply

