Re-View

So, we’ve scored the chance to get another look at baby.  Because Olive Shoot was so wiggly during our 22 week ultrasound, the sonographer couldn’t quite tell whether or not she saw something called an echogenic cardiac focus, which is a sort of calcium deposit on the heart muscle. My doctor called last Friday to go over the ultrasound results, and he assured me that there’s no real reason for concern.  If other markers are present (like enlarged kidneys or short fetal bones), an echogenic cardiac focus along with those things could indicate a chromosome disorder.  On its own, an echogenic cardiac focus doesn’t mean anything and won’t affect the baby.  For assurance, the doctor offered a follow-up Level II ultrasound with a perinatologist. So we’ve scheduled that for next Friday (1/29).

My doctor was so reassuring that I’m not anxious in the least.  The Olive Shoot looked healthy in every other way.  The sonographer had obvious trouble getting a good view of baby’s heart due to all the squirming, so she only maybe saw this calcium deposit.  And regardless of all the medical reasons to be worry-free, I know that the Olive Shoot is in God’s hands.  So really,  I’m just excited to get a bigger and better picture of our baby in just over a week!

7 Comments

Filed under gestation

7 responses to “Re-View

  1. JJ

    Praying all will be a-ok for the Oliver Shoot–yay for seeing the little one again!

  2. Getting to see the baby is always a good thing. 🙂 Praying all is well.

    ((hugs))

  3. Amy

    When I had my 17 week ultrasound they saw the same thing. The doctor swore to me that it would still be there when I went back at 27 weeks, but guess what, it wasn’t there. God is so good! The doctor also told me it was nothing to worry about. And, like you, I really didn’t give it a second thought. But I thought it was so great that neither the doctor nor the u/s technician could see it when we went back. Most importantly, my baby was born perfectly healthy!

  4. It will be great to get another peek! Praying all will be well.

  5. Enjoy another look at your sweet baby! Glad that your dr. isn’t concerned.

  6. Annika

    Glad you get another look–always something to look forward to! Praying for you and babe.

  7. tenure.track.mommy

    My daughter had bilateral echogenic foci on her 20 week ultrasound, which was very upsetting for me. I worried my whole pregnancy. I even joined a support group for women with the same issue on Facebook! My baby was born completely healthy in August and I am sure your baby will be fine as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

