Two Handles

As I wait for the results of this cycle (oh, I hope and pray that those little ones we transferred are thriving, nice and snug), I have two passages of Scripture lolling around my mind.  The Bible reading plan that I typically follow each day “happened” to include Psalms 112 and 113 one day last week.

From Psalm 112:

Praise the Lord!  Blessed is the man who fears the Lord… He is not afraid of bad news; his heart is firm, trusting in the Lord.

From Psalm 113:

Praise the Lord!… He gives the barren woman a home, making her the joyous mother of children.  Praise the Lord!

I’m so thankful for these two handles of truth as I sit among the unknowns, wondering what is happening inside me and wondering what news we will receive in the near future.  I have something to cling to in the case of either result.  If we get bad news, I don’t need to be afraid of it.  It will be hard, and I will grieve, but I can trust God to keep my heart firm.  If we get good news, how this barren woman will rejoice at what God has done!

Either way, the Lord will be praised.

7 Comments

Filed under in-vitro fertilization, meditation

7 responses to “Two Handles

  1. Amen! Praying for you.

  2. You always have the best outlook on things. I’m praying that this is your time to be a Mommy. 🙂

    ((hugs))

  3. Coralie

    Ps. 113 was on our birth announcement. Praying for a birth announcement (triplets) in your near future.

  4. hanna

    Love it! I could totally see someone having that question though….maybe myself??? 🙂

    I was just grating some zucchini by hand and prayed for you, Aaron, and those babies out loud. Oh, the dancing there would be, Lord!!

    Mourning to dancing
    Drought to rain
    Barren to Mother, lord.
    Yes, Lord, yes!

  5. elisabeth

    I was listening to the Psalms CD and was again comforted by these truths:
    “Your love forever will endure
    Your promises are sure
    To everlasting You are God”
    I pray that you will cling to our loving God’s promises this week, for they are sure! May you not be anxious as you wait for results, but lay your cares in the hands of your loving God and rest in the shadow of his wings.

  6. williamandglenna

    Praying for you!

  7. Love this post! It’s short and sweet and it sure packs a powerful punch. Great verses.

Leave a Reply

