Pins and Needles

I scrambled out of church yesterday morning when my phone rang just as the sermon started.  I answered as soon as I reached the building’s exit, and the nurse reported that four of our embryos were still growing.  All had multiplied to four cells; two graded A- and two graded B+.  The nurse told me to expect transfer on Tuesday or Wednesday and that she would call today to let me know.

I feel excited and hopeful, and I’m eagerly waiting for today’s report.  Hey, the nurse called as I typed.  We’ve now got four 8-cell embryos, still graded the same.  Oh, thank you, Lord!  We’re officially targeting a day-five transfer on Wednesday.  What happy news!

In other news, I gave myself my morning heparin shot in a forest preserve parking lot today.  My sister-in-law called at 7 a.m. with a last-minute babysitting request; could I take a walk with three of her kids while she took the kindergartner to orientation?  In order to meet her and the kids, I had to leave our house much earlier (and would return much later) than my designated injection time.  8:30 a.m. found me sitting in my car, swabbing my hands with rubbing alcohol (I had no other way to wash them), drawing heparin into the syringe and sticking the needle in my belly – no doubt arousing the curiosity of the man parked a few spaces over from me.

He can think whatever he likes.  I’m just giddy for our four embryos, and happy to do whatever it takes to make a healthy home for them!

8 Comments

Filed under in-vitro fertilization

8 responses to “Pins and Needles

  1. Annika

    This post made me get tears in my eyes and then laugh all in the same (picturing you in the parking lot…)…hooray for growing embryos! Praying!!

  2. Angie

    Oh Andrea, we are hopefully (and excitedly!) praying with faith along with you and Aaron!

  3. Ashley-Nicole

    We are praying and hopeful!!!

  4. 5-day transfer….that’s WONDERFUL NEWS!! I’m so happy to read this. Covering you and your embies in prayer. 🙂

    ((hugs))

  5. Oh, so wonderful! Thank you Lord! I didn’t get to respond to your last post but please know I am praying for you and your embryos!

  6. Mom

    I’m crying with joy and hope. You have been in my prayers so much. so you have become a junkie in the park. What we won’t do for family. Luv it. God is good!

  7. MarySue

    !!! What exciting news!
    Love your post title, by the way–very clever. 🙂

  8. We’re so excitedly praying for you all. I love knowing that it is God who is at work there in the lab, weaving together life.

Leave a Reply

