One Year at 137: Dining Room

View from living room to dining room [before]:

005_31A

View from dining room to living room, with phone cabinet (also: yes, we don’t have central air) [before]:

004_32A

Dining room [intermediate, aka autumn]:

002_24A

View from living room to dining room [now]:

DSC_0877_300

Friends gave us a table and chairs (from about the same era as our house) that they didn’t need anymore, so we scored a free upgrade from our IKEA dining set.  The varnish on the table is faded and peeling, so I use a tablecloth at all times.  The chairs came to us with fading dark stain on the wood and forest green upholstery; we spray-painted all the wood white (quite the project!) and reupholstered with some fabric I had on hand.  Here’s a shot of the result:

DSC_0880_302

More dining room shots [now]:

DSC_0871_298

DSC_0875_299

View of the phone nook [now]:

DSC_0878_301

I’m already thinking about repainting the walls.  I wanted a medium brown color, and this shade ended up looking more like clay on our walls.  I don’t dislike it, but it’s just not the tone I was aiming for.  Ironically, it’s the color choice we get the most compliments on!

And speaking of the dining room – time to go make dinner…

4 Comments

Filed under domestication

4 responses to “One Year at 137: Dining Room

  1. JJ

    Looks awesome! Great job-I always feel so accomplished after redecorating/updating!

  2. I love before and after photos…it looks great!! I like the color of the paint, as well.

    I’m so happy to know what a phone nook looks like. There is a rather large, odd space in my home that everyone tells me is a phone nook (my home was built 5 yrs ago!) and I continue to tell them, “no it’s not.” It holds fresh flowers during the year and my nativity at Christmas, but other than that, I have no clue what to do with it. But I am happy to know that I’m right…IT’S NOT A PHONE NOOK! ha!

  3. amy

    “It makes me smile a lot.”

    I adore the rounded door/entryway corners and the phone nook. I also like the chair fabric and how it brings the blue from the living room into the dining room.

  4. CT

    I love your blog. I have given you an award. The rules are go to my blog to accept your blog. You then have to award 15 other people.

    CT

Leave a Reply

